Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Climbing Mt Fuji 2015/7/10 17:42
Hello! I am going to climb Mt Fuji on August 12th (to see the sunrise 13th morning)! I have already booked a hut on the Fujinomiya trail. Just a few questions:

1. I am coming from Osaka. Would I be able to leave 12th morning to reach and climb Mt Fuji? Or what is the best way and best time to get there and arrive there by? Any recommendations?

2. Can I climb up the Fujinomiya trail and climb down the Yoshida trail (I am going to Tokyo after)

3. Best place at the summit to see the sunrise - coming from the Fujinomiya trail - should I walk around to the Yoshida trail side? Or will that be super crowded?

4. I will be climbing alone and I am a beginner climber. I know that this is the second most populated walk and that I am climbing during Obon week. Will there be lost of other climbers there too? Is it safe?

5. Best way to deal with luggage? I've read about takkyubin as an option. Any opinions? And how does this work - would I have to ship it from my hostel? Is it expensive?

Thank you in advance! (And sorry if I've repeated questions)

by Rach (guest)  

Re: Climbing Mt Fuji 2015/7/11 19:07
Hello,

Did you solve your worries about mt.fuji?
I am going to climb to the mountain on 1st August.

So i am happy to know you have interest about mt.fuji.

I am only sure that if you can arrive in Sinfuji station,
It much easier to get a 5th station.
We have a public bus from Sinfuji station to 5th station from 0830,0920,1020,1120...it will takes for 2hours to get there.

And did you know the website

http://www.fujisan-climb.jp/en/index.html

I hope the site will help you.
Enjoy

Sonoe
by sonoe (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Climbing Mt Fuji 2015/7/12 04:07
Rach,
I agree with the late poster, nice you have found interest in mt Fuji.