Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

10 Days in Kansai Enough? Budget? 2011/10/20 21:09
Hi! I'm currently an exchange student here in Tokyo.
I'm planning my trip to the Kansai Area this autumn break.

I want to do this trip as cheaply as possible though I know the trade-off is time and comfort, but I'm in Japan for a year and I'm used to roughing it, so it's okay.

There are 13 days in our autumn break, and I would like to use up maybe 9 to 11 days since I want to rest a bit before class starts again.

So how many days should I spend in Kansai?
I want to go to Nara, Kyoto, Osaka, Kobe, Himeji, Amanohashidate, and Mt. Koya. Better suggestions?
If possible, Ise Shima sounds like it's a great destination too.
Any overnight trains/buses to go to each place that's cheap will be really nice so that I can save on accommodations.

I haven't yet decided on what specific sites to see in each area but I think that would be easier if I have a rough outline already.

So maybe
3 or 4 days in Kyoto
2 days in Nara
Then 4/5 days for the rest?
Any suggestions?

About my budget, is 40,000 yen enough for everything? Or how much do you suggest?
I don't plan on eating out at restaurants a lot (maybe just 5 times) konbini food is okay with me.
And I plan on taking the cheapest night bus, (or is there an even cheaper way?)
The cheapest okay hostel I found in Kyoto is 2000 yen per night? Do you know of anything cheaper that's not too yucky?

I might ask more questions when I think of them as I do more specific plans.

THANKS!!! :)))
by ctrlalt  

Re: 10 Days in Kansai Enough? Budget? 2011/10/21 08:38
Also, what do you think is better, just stay in one place for accommodation or move around? Thanks! :)
by ctrlalt rate this post as useful

... 2011/10/21 09:59