Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Seeking tips for 9-day Kansai itinerary 2024/4/11 09:41
I'm planning my first-ever trip to Japan and have put together a tentative 9-day itinerary for the Kansai region focusing on Osaka and Kyoto. As it's my first time, I'd really appreciate any feedback, alternative suggestions, or insider tips.

A bit about my interests and preferences:

1. This is my first visit to Japan

2. I'm really drawn to nature, cultural experiences, and local food.

3. Not too interested in amusement parks or anything too touristy/crowded.

4. Looking to discover some underrated gems off-the-beaten-path

5. Visiting Toyosato in Kyoto is a must for me.

Here's a quick overview of my planned itinerary:

Day 1 - Arrive in Osaka, explore Dotonbori district, street food.

Day 2 - Sumiyoshi Taisha Shrine, hike Minoo Park & Waterfall

Day 3 - Travel to Kyoto, Arashiyama Bamboo Grove, Tenryu-ji Temple, Nishiki Market

Day 4 - Kiyomizu-dera Temple, hike Mount Inari trails, Otagi Nenbutsu-ji Temple

Day 5 - Day trip to Nara (Todai-ji, deer park, Kasuga Taisha), Pontocho Alley dining

Day 6 - Gion district, Kennin-ji Temple, Toyosato, other Kyoto explorations

Day 7 - Adashino Nenbutsu-ji, Philosopher's Path, travel to Osaka, Hozenji Yokocho

Day 8 - Dotonbori dive, Amemura/America Village, Umeda Sky Building

Day 9 - Departure from Osaka

I'm definitely open to swapping things out or adjusting this itinerary. A few questions I have:

1. Are there any hidden nature spots, lesser-known shrines/temples, or local neighborhoods you'd recommend visiting in?

2. Better alternatives for any of the days that better match my interests?

3. Anything I'm missing or should adjust timing-wise?

Any other Japan travels tips for a first timer are welcome too, thanks in advance for your suggestions!
by rdhhauzan (guest)  

Re: Seeking tips for 9-day Kansai itinerary 2024/4/11 16:08