Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

first-time in Japan advice 2011/5/27 01:42
Hello everyone,
I'm from the Philippines and it's my first time going out of the country and my first time going to Tokyo,Japan and I would be there for just five days. My questions are:

1. Are most restaurants ok? My only problem about it is that I'm not very fluent in Japanese and can't speak any yet.

My interests involves: anime, history, old and modern art, dining out

by Gabse  

. 2011/5/27 15:32
If you stick to restaurants that have pictures/replicas of the food or English menu you'll be fine. Just point at whatever you'd like. A little bit of Japanese doesn't go astray, but it's not essential.

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2040.html
by Sal1980 rate this post as useful

no problem 2011/5/28 08:50

as Sal1980 says, all you have to do is point at the plastic sample of choice in front of most restaurants. Chain "izakayas" (restaurant-pubs) will usually have a picture menu. Even if not, the restaurant staff are usually very helpful in trying to understand what you want - for best results speak English very slowly and clearly, use simple words, (and smile! it's important)

Not sure what you mean by whether most restaurants will be OK...but rest assured, hygiene standards are amongst the highest in the world, even in the smaller restaurants. And the chances of a tourist getting ripped off in a restaurant is virtually zero - but the restaurant may be expensive anyway (and some pubs have a flat-rate table charge) so check the menu first!
by Tico (guest) rate this post as useful

... 2011/5/29 08:18
Hi Gabse,
I hope you enjoy your first trip out of the Phillipines.
You will find a different mindset (culture) as a tourist in Japan compared to being a tourist in other Asian countries.